Colombo Operated Model United Nations, one of the most prestigious model UN conferences in the local MUN calendar took place virtually on the 4 th , 5 th and 6 th of March 2022. It was an opportunity not only to discuss diplomacy but to respond to the global call for peace and harmony. Students of Gateway College excelled by engaging with solution-packed discourse, winning 26 awards for their excellent contributions.

In the Third General Assembly, Imra Rizvi won the Best Foreign Policy Statement award, Nishthula Subasinghe and Vakeesh Shanthirupan secured Honourary Mention awards and Shimar Yasin Khan clinched the Higher Commendation award. In the Fourth General Assembly, Aaqil Salih was awarded the Best Foreign Policy Statement award, Mihan Hettiarachchi claimed an Honourary Mention award, Enosh Solomon secured a Higher Commendation award and the esteemed title of Best Delegate was awarded to Pehan Amarathunge. The next committee that earned awards for Gateway diplomacy was the United Nations Commission on Crime Prevention and Criminal Justice(UNCCPCJ), where an Honourary Mention was won by Sineth Jayasundera, a Higher commendation award was won by Nehan De Zoysa and the coveted Best Degelate award was secured by Dhivyakrishnan Thriyampakan, who also attained the award for the Best Foreign Policy Statement.

In the Economic and Social Commission(ECOSOC), the best Foreign Policy Statement award was won by Amra Hisham, Honourary mention awards were secured by Anuk Ranaweera and Abdul Aziz Fauzul Ameer, the higher commendation was clinched by Malith De Silva and the prestigious Best Delegate award was attained by Yusuf Ali Barrie. In the African Union(AU), the Best Foreign Policy Statement award was awarded to Timothy Shankar, an Honourable Mention award was won by Gokul Parasuraman
and the Higher commendation award was clinched by Miteish Shankar. In the Futuristic Security Council, the Best Media Press Release was attained by Tarush Wickramarachchi, while the Higher commendation award was won by Joel Shankar and the highly sought-after Best Delegate award was secured by Vyshalini Rajendran.

In the Ad Hoc Crisis committee with the Third General Assembly and the Economic and Social Council, the Best Crisis Delegation award was awarded to Mihan Hettiarachchi and Abdul Aziz Fauzul Ameer for representing USA, while in the Ad Hoc Crisis committee with the Futuristic Security Council and the United Nations Commission on Crime Prevention and Criminal Justice, the Best Crisis Delegation award was attained by Tarush Wickramarachchi and Nehan De Zoysa for representing the Russian Federation.
The number of awards secured by the Gateway Delegation as well as the volume of investment by its delegates in the formulation of successful resolutions to contemporary crises are only declarations of the abilities of an intellectually nourished Model UN club. Such achievements have been made possible by the commitment and support of the Deputy Principals, Mr. Anthony Chelliah of Gateway College Dehiwala and Mrs. Nishotha Anuraj of Gateway College Colombo, as well as the Teacher in Charge of Gateway College Kandy, Mr. Dilshan Senaratne.

Seated(L-R) Enosh Solomon, Dhivyakrishnan Thriyampakan, Mr Anthony Chelliah (Deputy Principal), Tarush Wickramarachchi, Dr. Harsha Alles (Chairman), Timothy Shankar, Mrs. Nishotha Anuraj (Deputy Principal), Pehan Amarathunge, Mr. Dilshan Senaratne (Teacher-in-charge)

First Row(L-R) Imra Rizvi, Nishthula Subasinghe, Gokul Parasuraman, Vakeesh Shantirupan, Miteish Shankar, Aaqil Salih, Joel Shankar, Anuk Ranaweera, Malith De Silva, Mihan Hettiarachchi, Sineth Jayasundera, Yusuf Ali Barrie, Vyshalini Rajendran, Shimar Yasin Khan, Nehan De Zoysa, Amra Hisham