Gateway College continues its MUN Supremacy

Sri Lanka Model United Nations holds a position of utmost prestige in the annual Model UN calendar, and is one of the biggest conferences in Sri Lanka. This year, it broke the ‘new convention’ and opted for a physical conference which was held from the 22 nd to the 23 rd of January 2022 at the Bandaranaike Memorial International Conference Hall (BMICH). Its Theme ‘Restless for change’ blended well with Gateway’s grit for change and development, resulting in the obtaining of 19 awards.

The General Assemblies were amalgamated to create the General Assembly Plenary (GAP). In the General Assembly Plenary, The Best Foreign Policy Statement award was won by Thesath Mallikarachchi who represented India, whilst the delegation of Germany, represented by Dhivyakrishnan Thriyampakan, Mihan Hettiarachchi and Shimar Yasin Khan, claimed the coveted Best Delegation award. In the United Nations Environment Program (UNEP), the delegates of Italy and United Kingdom represented by Sahithri De Silva and Timothy Shankar respectively, received Honourable Mention awards, whilst Sharini Nirmalan obtained a Higher Commendation award for representing Niger. The
most prestigious Best Delegate award was awarded to Tarush Wickramarachchi for representing Germany.

In the United Nations Human Rights Council (UNHRC), Honourable Mention awards were secured by Joel Shankar and Gokul Parasuraman who represented Italy and Germany respectively. In the Economic and Social Commission for Asia and Pacific (ESCAP), Malith De Silva received the Best Foreign Policy Statement award for representing Thailand, Amra Hisham claimed an Honourable Mention award for representing India and Abdul Aziz Fauzul Ameer secured the Higher Commendation award for representing Afghanistan. Yusuf Ali Barrie won the esteemed Best Delegate award for representing Brunei.

In the United Nations World Health Assembly (WHA), Enosh Solomon and Azeem Faizal received Honourable Mention awards for representing Germany and India respectively. Dhanvin Nandakumaran secured a Higher Commendation award for representing United Kingdom. In the International Cricket Council (ICC), Jithindu Athapaththu won an Honourable Mention award for representing the England and Wales Cricket Board. In the Security Council, Vyshalini Rajendran obtained a Higher Commendation award for representing Niger. The praiseworthy performance of the Gateway College delegation is a statement of its will to revolutionize diplomacy and inspire ground-breaking change. This achievement would have been impossible without the investment of time and effort by the Deputy Principals, Mr. Anthony Chelliah of Gateway College Dehiwala and Mrs. Nishotha Anuraj of Gateway College Colombo, as well as the Teachers in Charge, Mr. Dilshan Senaratne of Gateway College Kandy and Mrs. Samitha Leelaratne of Gateway College Dehiwala.

Seated (L-R) Mrs. Samitha Leelaratne (Teacher-in-charge), Mihan Hettiarachchi, Mr. Anthony Chelliah (Deputy Principal), Tarush Wickramarachchi, Dr. Harsha Alles (Chairman), Dhivyakrishnan Thriyampakan, Mrs. Nishotha Anuraj (Deputy Principal), Yusuf Ali Barrie, Mr. Dilshan Senaratne (Teacher-in-charge), Shimar Yasin Khan 

First Row (L-R) Enosh Solomon, Vyshalini Rajendran, Sharini Nirmalan, Dhanvin Nandakumaran, Jithindu Athapaththu, Malith De Silva, Timothy Shankar, Joel Shankar, Abdul Aziz Fauzul Ameer, Sahithri De Silva, Amra Hisham, Azeem Faizal